CIC President Presents 2022 Awards during Annual Conference

January 19, 2022 — Washington, DC

​The Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) announced the recipients of its annual awards for 2022 during the 52nd annual Presidents Institute.

CIC President Marjorie Hass honored Judith Block McLaughlin with the 2022 Allen P. Splete Award for Outstanding Service; Robert Hale and Karen Hale with the 2022 Award for Philanthropy (Individual); and Cannon Charitable Interests with the 2022 Award for Philanthropy (Organization).

Hass presented the 2022 Allen P. Splete Award for Outstanding Service to Judith Block McLaughlin in recognition of her contributions to strengthening the leadership pipeline, contributing to the success of more than 1,000 college and university presidents. The award, named after Allen P. Splete, president of CIC from 1986 to 2000, recognizes significant achievements on behalf of independent higher education.

In announcing the award, Hass said, “The Council of Independent Colleges pays tribute to your long-standing focus on leadership and governance as sources of excellence in higher education. Your extensive writing and consulting on leadership transitions, presidential assessment, healthy board–president relationships, and sound governance have made a significant impact on American higher education.”

McLaughlin is educational chair of the Harvard Seminar for New Presidents and the Harvard Seminar for Experienced Presidents. Prior to joining Harvard, she was dean of student affairs at two colleges, executive director of the National Academy of Education, and a high school social studies teacher. In 2007, she was appointed by Governor Deval Patrick to serve as chair of the Massachusetts Public Education Nominating Council, the body that nominates trustees for the state’s colleges and universities. McLaughlin has written and consulted extensively on leadership transitions, presidential assessment, and board-president relationships. She has published Leadership Amidst Controversy: Presidential Perspectives; Leadership Transitions: The New College President; and Choosing a College President: Opportunities and Constraints (with D. Riesman).

The 2022 Award for Philanthropy (Individual) honors Robert Hale and Karen Hale for their visionary leadership in philanthropic and volunteer support of higher education. This award celebrates individuals who demonstrate the love of humankind through consequential giving or volunteer service.

Hass said the Hales’ “generous contributions to Connecticut College for scholarships, campus programs, facilities, and infrastructure projects have benefited countless faculty members and students. Through the New Breeze Foundation, you have given your time and talents to raising funds for the college education of children of fallen service members.”

The Hales have donated approximately $20 million to Connecticut College. In 2021, the Hales pledged an additional $30 million, the largest single gift in Connecticut College’s history, to support financial aid, athletics, and improvements to the campus infrastructure. Connecticut College is far from the only beneficiary of the Hales’ philanthropy. In May 2021, the Hales surprised each of Quincy College’s (MA) 270 graduates with a $1,000 cash gift.

The 2022 Award for Philanthropy (Organization) was presented to Cannon Charitable Interests in recognition of the organization’s generous support of higher education, health care, human services, and community—philanthropy that honors Charles A. Cannon’s legacy of community leadership.

In announcing the award, Hass said, “Grants from the foundation have allowed Wingate University and more than 25 additional independent colleges and universities in North Carolina and other states to complete significant projects and implement new programs on their campuses. The presidents of the nation’s independent colleges and universities gratefully honor the Cannon Charitable Interests for their distinguished record of generosity and service.”

The Cannon Charitable Interests, composed of the Cannon Foundation, the Charles A. Cannon Charitable Trusts, and the Mariam and Robert Hayes Charitable Trust, supports numerous organizations across the state of North Carolina, continuing the legacy of founder Charles A. Cannon to support community leadership and philanthropy. Giving from the Cannon Charitable Interests to Wingate University began in 1953 with a gift of $5,000 and now totals more than $35 million. CIC member institutions that have received support from Cannon Charitable Interests include: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Bennett College, Brevard College, Catawba College, Chowan University, Converse University, Gardner-Webb University, Guilford College, Hampden-Sydney College, High Point University, Johnson C. Smith University, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Livingstone College, Mars Hill University, Meredith College, Montreat College, North Carolina Wesleyan College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, Salem College, St. Andrews University, Shaw University, University of Mount Olive, Warren Wilson College, Wheaton College (IL), and William Peace University.

​The Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) is an association of 758 nonprofit independent colleges and universities, state-based councils of independent colleges, and other higher education affiliates, that works to support college and university leadership, advance institutional excellence, and enhance public understanding of independent higher education’s contributions to society. CIC is the major national organization that focuses on services to leaders of independent colleges and universities and state-based councils. CIC offers conferences, seminars, publications, and other programs and services that help institutions improve educational quality, administrative and financial performance, student outcomes, and institutional visibility. It conducts the largest annual conferences of college and university presidents and of chief academic officers in the United States. Founded in 1956, CIC is headquartered at One Dupont Circle in Washington, DC.